About the Conference Call for Papers Conference Program Registration

>Intent to Participate
>Submission of Tech Papers
>Info for Authors/Speakers
>VISA Information
>Patron Information
>General Information
>Hotel Information
>IEEE Travel Services
>CTIA Information

General Chair
Lothar Pauly
Siemens Communications, Germany
Executive Chair
Werner Mohr
Siemens Communications, Germany
TPC Chair
K.C. Chua
National Univ. of Singapore, Republic of Singapore
TPC Vice-Chair (Phy/MAC)
Sumit Roy
Univ. of Washington, USA
TPC Vice-Chair (Networks)
Victor Leung
Univ. of British Columbia, Canada
TPC Vice-Chair (Services & Applications)
Abbas Jamalipour
Univ. of Sydney, Australia
TPC Vice-Chair (Tutorials)
T.J. Lim
Univ. of Toronto, Canada
TPC Vice-Chair (Technology / Business Applications Panels)
Vijay Varma
Telcordia Technologies, USA
Publications Chair
Charles Knutson
Brigham Young Univ., USA
Associate TPC Vice Chair (Phy/MAC)
Uday Desai
IIT - Bombay, India
Project Manager
Debora Kingston
IEEE Communications Society, USA
Bruce Worthman
IEEE Communications Society, USA
WCNC Steering Committee Chair
J. Roberto B. de Marca
PUC/Rio, Brazil

Conference Program
WCNC 2005 Technology and Business Applications Panels

Tuesday 15 March 2005
9:00 - 10 :30 Room 208 - 210

P4: Evolution of 3G Systems: UMTS and CDMA2000

Chair: Ed Tiedemann, Vice President, Qualcomm, Inc. USA

Abstract: Since the original 3G-CDMA UMTS and cdma2000 specifications were published in 1999, these specifications have been enhanced to provide better packet data services. For the UMTS family, these enhancements include HSDPA (Release 5) and EUL (Release 6). For the cdma2000 family, they include 1xEV-DV (cdma2000 Revision C and D) and 1xEV-DO (Revision 0 and A). This panel will summarize the status of these enhancements and then discuss possible next evolutionary steps for these air interfaces. Some possible objectives for this evolutionary work, which is beginning in 3GPP and 3GPP2, are to further increase data rates and lower delays.

Vedat Eyuboglu: Chief Technical Officer, Airvana, USA
Paul Mankiewich: Chief Architect and Chief Technical Officer, Mobility Solutions, Lucent, USA
Gerry Flynn: Director, Advanced Technology Strategy, Verizon Wireless, USA
Erik Dahlman: Expert, CDMA Radio Access, Ericsson, Sweden
John Hoadley: Vice President, Next Generation Wireless Access, Nortel, USA

Back to Panels List